The new Google Apps: be sure you are in-service ready!

I will admit, I really like the new apps we have available in Google Apps for education.  I transitioned our staff early this summer and was excited to present our staff Picasa Web Albums today at our Summer Academy!  I was thankful I did it early, instead of waiting for the automatic transition (which will happen whether your domain is ready or not… in a couple of weeks)

What I did not expect was the hand full of users with problems today.  These users  previously logged in with their SCHOOL email address – before our transition – to create an account on Google’s public side of apps (like Blogger, Youtube, Picasa, ect) .  I assumed that the email that Google automatically generated and sent to users with conflicting accounts would have been addressed. (Google does NOT give you the accounts that have conflicts – that would have been REALLY nice to have upon transitioning)  I assumed that if you were still able to actively use your school Gmail accounts, even logging on the public gmail.com, that you would be good to go!  Well, you know were assumptions got me today!

These users could not fully login to our Gapps Picasa app – and would continuously revert to a temporary account.  After about my 3rd problem account…and many clicking scenarios…I finally got the process down.  I really wish I would have made screenshots but, in a scramble, screenshots was the last thing on my mind.

I did want to share the gist of what you have to do to quickly transition the accounts.

You essentially have 3 options:

1. Transfer your data to your current school Google Apps account.  This is the EASIEST of the 3 options.  It essentially is 3 clicks and you are off and running.

2. Transfer your data to a current gmail.com account.  This also wasnt too difficlut, but if you want to separate your personal info from your school info – you may wind up transitioning the information later anyways.

3. Create a new public Gmail.com account.  This was painful  (well painful because I was in a time crunch) because I did not realize the process you have to go through to authenticate your NEW gmail.com address.  (they have to send you a text or call you to give you your authentication code)  I really appreciate gmail’s efforts to get rid of spammers, but this unexpected change made the situation a little bit worse.

I am fortunate all of the participants in my session were patient while working out these bugs.  I also realize that if I knew then what I do now, that I would have done a better job at prepping my staff about what to do if they receive a “conflicting account” email from Google.  Was it a huge issue today???  Not at all.   But, I thought this experience was good enough to share with others – especially if you are planning any workshops utilizing the new applications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *